Family Book Discussion

The monthly Desi Rainbow Parents & Allies Allyship Group supports straight, cisgender Desi allies who want to learn how to stand with the LGBTQ+ community in building inclusive, affirming community spaces. We see this group of family members, friends and neighbors as the key to changing hearts and minds in the Desi community and beyond.
 

Allyship is about taking action to change the status quo. The DRPA Allyship group works to foster allyship within the Desi community by providing a safe learning opportunity for potential allies. We are launching an intergenerational book discussion group as part of this effort, led by a mother and daughter team.

Our groups are led by volunteers who are themselves LGBTQ+ or parents and allies. While guest experts may be invited to speak on certain topics, we do not provide advice or medical information. Topics may vary, the focus of the group is to learn to increase acceptance of LGBTQ+ people by their parents and families.

Join us for a Family Book Discussion with Reshna & Anu!

 

On Tuesday, Month --th at 9pm ET, 8pm CT and 6pm PT we invite our Allies to a Family-friendly book discussion withReshna and Anu, a a mother and daughter team. 

 

Our topic for the May 18th Allyship Group Meeting is the Finding Belonging

Register below to receive a link to join this live event.

 

Description provided by Meera:

So much of my journey as a queer desi centered around a yearning for belonging. I feared losing my sense of belonging, worried that I would never belong anywhere, and grappled with my familial and cultural notions around belonging. Let's talk candidly about what belonging really means, and what it means to belong to ourselves.

 

WhatsApp Image 2021-04-19 at 10.00.51 PM
Tuesday, May 18th | 9pm EST
Ask Me Anything: Finding Belonging

Join Meera in a discussion about what belonging really means, and what it means to belong to ourselves.